BlogInterviews

Best Free AI Interview Assistants and Copilots in 2027

What you can get for an interview without paying: free practice tools, free tiers, trials that end, and bring-your-own-key or local copilots, with each limit spelled out.

By Published 7 min read

You can prepare for an interview with AI without paying anything: Huru gives job seekers unlimited mock interviews for free, interviewing.io's AI Interviewer covers coding and system design at no cost, and Aced runs free peer mock interviews. Free live help is harder. Every hosted interview copilot either caps its free plan at 15 minutes or less, or offers only a trial. The copilots you can keep using without a subscription are the ones that run on your own AI key or a local model, such as Natively and Pluely, and those are only free of API charges when the model runs on your own computer.

The short answer

  • Free practice, no limitsHuru: no paid plan for job seekers at all
  • Free coding practiceinterviewing.io: an AI Interviewer for coding and system design
  • Free live copilot, no API billNatively: free for personal use with a local model through Ollama
  • Free hosted copilot minutesVerve AI: three 15-minute sessions a month, no card
  • Open sourceCheating Daddy: GPL-3.0, though Gemini usage on your key can be billed

Seven kinds of "free"

Vendors use the word for very different deals. This guide puts every tool in one of these groups, so you know what you are signing up for:

  • Free software: open-source code or software that costs nothing to run, with no account limits.
  • Free for personal use: no charge under a personal-use licence; commercial use needs a paid one.
  • Free plan, with limits: a permanent plan you can keep using, capped by minutes, sessions or features.
  • Free app, you pay the AI provider: the software is free, but you bring an API key from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google or another provider, and that provider bills you for what you use.
  • Free, runs on your hardware: the model runs on your computer, so there are no API charges, but you need hardware that can run it.
  • Trial only: a fixed allowance or a time limit, after which you pay. A trial is not a free product.
  • No free option: you pay from the start, sometimes with a refund window.

Every free option, with its limit

Free AI interview assistants and copilots, checked 27 October 2026
ToolKind of freeThe exact limitPractice or liveWhat costs money
HuruFree plan, with limitsFree for job seekers with unlimited mock interviews and feedback; only organisations pay.PracticeNothing for job seekers
interviewing.ioFree plan, with limitsThe AI Interviewer for coding and system design practice is free.PracticeHuman mock interviews, from $179
Aced (formerly Exponent)Free plan, with limitsFree account with free peer mock interviews (Pramp now runs on it); courses and coaching are paid.PracticeCourses, membership and coaching
YoodliFree plan, with limitsStarter plan with 5 sessions in total, not per month.PracticePro from $8 a month, billed annually
NativelyFree for personal useFree for personal use. Bring your own API key (your provider bills you for usage) or run a local model through Ollama (no API charges). A short trial of the hosted Natively API needs no card.LiveYour AI provider's usage on your own key; Pro licence for résumé context
PluelyFree app, you pay the AI providerFree plan with no account, unlimited on your own API keys or a local model through Ollama. Closed source since v1.LiveYour AI provider's usage on your own key; optional Pro plans
Cheating DaddyFree app, you pay the AI providerOpen source (GPL-3.0) and free, but it needs your own Gemini API key, billed by Google.LiveGoogle's Gemini API usage beyond its free allowance
Verve AIFree plan, with limits3 copilot sessions a month of 15 minutes each, plus 5 AI mock interviews.Practice and liveStandard from $16.99 a month, billed annually
LockedIn AIFree plan, with limitsA free plan with no card. The site states its limit two ways (10 minutes of live help, and unlimited 5-minute sessions up to 60 minutes a day).Practice and liveUnlimited, credit or lifetime plans
Sensei AIFree plan, with limitsFree plan with 15-minute copilot sessions; how many is not stated.LivePro from $24 a month, billed annually
Parakeet AITrial onlyOne 10-minute free session and one free mock interview, no card.Practice and liveCredits from $25, or Unlimited at $99.90 a month
Final Round AIFree plan, with limitsFree plan covers preparation only (résumé, job-description parsing, checklists). No free live sessions and no trial.Preparation only when freePro from $25 a month for practice and live help
Free AI interview assistants and copilots, checked 27 October 2026. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Interview Coder is missing on purpose: its app downloads for free, but every AI feature needs a subscription. Big Interview has no free plan either, only a 30-day money-back guarantee.

How we evaluated

We read each product's pricing page, help pages and, for open-source projects, the repository, on 27 October 2026, and recorded the free allowance exactly as the vendor states it. We did not use these services or run tests on them. Where a vendor's own pages disagree about the free limit (LockedIn AI does), we report both statements.

We ranked within each group by:

  1. How long the free option lasts. A plan you can keep using beats one that runs out.
  2. Whether it is enough for a real session. A 15-minute cap does not cover a 45-minute interview.
  3. Hidden costs. API bills on your own key, hardware for a local model, or features that need an upgrade.
  4. What happens to your data on the free plan.

Practice tools come first because their free plans are the most generous. Natively is the product we make; it appears first among the bring-your-own-key copilots because it is the one in that group whose source you can read and that runs a local model with no account, not because of a score.

Free tools for practice

Huru: completely free mock interviews

Platforms
Web, iOS app, Chrome extension
Free option
Free plan, with limitsFree for job seekers with unlimited mock interviews and feedback; only organisations pay.
Paid plans
Enterprise plans for universities and organisations, priced on request
How it works
Mock interviews recorded with your camera and microphone, scored per answer

Huru's FAQ is unusually direct: asked whether there is a paid plan for job seekers, it says no. You get unlimited mock interviews across more than 240 roles, a live AI interviewer and answers scored on five qualities. Organisations pay; you do not.

Strengths

  • No paid plan for job seekers
  • Unlimited mock interviews with scored feedback
  • Web, iOS and a Chrome extension

Drawbacks

  • AI feedback only, no human interviewer
  • Not built for coding practice
  • Recording retention not stated on its homepage

Choose it if you want to rehearse behavioral and role questions as often as you need at no cost. Official site.

interviewing.io: free coding and system design practice

Platforms
Web
Free option
Free plan, with limitsThe AI Interviewer for coding and system design practice is free.
Paid plans
Anonymous mock interviews with senior engineers from $179 a session
How it works
Browser sessions in its own coding pad, with audio and chat, no video

interviewing.io's free AI Interviewer gives you coding and system design problems in its own version of CoderPad and writes up feedback afterwards. Its paid product, anonymous mocks with senior engineers, is worth knowing about for the final week before an onsite.

Strengths

  • The AI Interviewer is free
  • Practice in a real coding pad
  • Written feedback after each session

Drawbacks

  • The well-known human mocks cost from $179
  • Web only
  • Audio and chat, no video

Choose it if you are preparing for software engineering interviews. Official site.

Aced (formerly Exponent): free peer mock interviews

Platforms
Web
Free option
Free plan, with limitsFree account with free peer mock interviews (Pramp now runs on it); courses and coaching are paid.
Paid plans
Membership and 1:1 coaching; prices only render at checkout and could not be confirmed
How it works
Courses, question bank, peer and coached mock interviews, AI feedback on practice answers

A free Aced account (Aced is the new name of Exponent) gets you peer mock interviews of 30 to 45 minutes, where you and another candidate take turns interviewing each other. That is still free; the course library, AI feedback depth and coaching are what the membership pays for.

Strengths

  • Free peer mocks (Pramp now runs on Aced)
  • Covers software, product, data and ML roles
  • A real person on the other side

Drawbacks

  • Courses and coaching are paid, with prices only at checkout
  • Quality depends on your peer
  • Web only

Choose it if you want to practise with another candidate rather than an AI. Official site.

Yoodli: a short free trial of delivery coaching

Platforms
Web
Free option
Free plan, with limitsStarter plan with 5 sessions in total, not per month.
Paid plans
Pro $8 a month and Advanced $20 a month, both billed annually
How it works
Roleplay practice in the browser; also gives feedback on recordings you upload

Yoodli's Starter plan is free but finite: 5 sessions for the life of the account. That is enough to rehearse your opening and two or three hard questions. Pro is $8 a month billed annually.

Strengths

  • Live AI roleplays
  • Feedback on pace, filler words and structure
  • Cheap paid plan if it works for you

Drawbacks

  • Starter is 5 sessions in total, not a month
  • Starter session data may be used to improve the platform
  • Web only

Choose it if you want to check how you sound before an important interview. Official site.

Free live copilots: your own key or a local model

These three are the only copilots in this guide you can use for a full interview without a subscription. Read the section after them before you assume that means no cost at all.

Natively: free live help with a local model

Platforms
macOS and Windows desktop app
Free option
Free for personal useFree for personal use. Bring your own API key (your provider bills you for usage) or run a local model through Ollama (no API charges). A short trial of the hosted Natively API needs no card.
Paid plans
Pro licence $39 a year or $79 once; hosted Natively API plans $8 to $35 a month
How it works
Desktop app that hears both sides of the call from your computer; no bot joins the meeting

Natively is a desktop app that hears both sides of the call from your computer and answers in an overlay; no bot joins the meeting. It is free for personal use in two ways. With your own key from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Groq or any OpenAI-compatible endpoint, the app costs nothing and your provider bills you per use. With a local model through Ollama, there is no API bill at all, provided your computer can run the model (16 GB of memory or more is a sensible start). The Pro licence ($39 a year or $79 once) adds résumé and job-description context, and the hosted Natively API ($8 to $35 a month) has a short trial with no card. Setup is in our bring-your-own-key and local copilot guide.

Strengths

  • Free for personal use, on your own key or a local model
  • With Ollama, nothing leaves your computer and there is no API bill
  • macOS and Windows; reads coding problems from the screen

Drawbacks

  • A local model needs a capable computer and gives plainer answers than the largest hosted ones
  • Résumé and job-description context need the Pro licence
  • No built-in mock interviewer

Choose it if you want a copilot for mock interviews, or permitted live ones, with no subscription and no vendor holding your recordings. See Natively's plans.

Pluely: free on your own keys, Linux included

Platforms
macOS, Windows and Linux desktop app
Free option
Free app, you pay the AI providerFree plan with no account, unlimited on your own API keys or a local model through Ollama. Closed source since v1.
Paid plans
Pro plans with hosted models exist; prices only render at checkout and could not be confirmed
How it works
Desktop overlay that transcribes your microphone and system audio and can capture the screen

Pluely started as open source and its README now says version 1 and later are proprietary binaries. The free plan is unchanged: no account, no limits from Pluely, and any provider key, Ollama or an AI command-line tool as the model.

Strengths

  • No account; unlimited on your own keys or Ollama
  • macOS, Windows and Linux
  • Keeps chats and transcripts in a local database

Drawbacks

  • Closed source since version 1
  • Paid plan prices could not be confirmed
  • Purchases are non-refundable

Choose it if you want a free bring-your-own-key overlay and you run Linux. Official site.

Cheating Daddy: open source, on a Gemini key

Platforms
macOS and Windows (Linux described as testing only)
Free option
Free app, you pay the AI providerOpen source (GPL-3.0) and free, but it needs your own Gemini API key, billed by Google.
Paid plans
No paid plan
How it works
Desktop overlay that captures the screen and system audio and sends them to Gemini Live

Cheating Daddy is the one fully open-source copilot that is still active. It is free software, but it only works with Google's Gemini Live model on your own key, and usage beyond Google's free allowance is billed to you. Glass, the other open-source name that comes up, is gone: its repository returned a 404 when we checked.

Strengths

  • GPL-3.0 source on GitHub
  • No paid plan at all
  • macOS and Windows

Drawbacks

  • Needs your own Gemini API key
  • Streams your screen and audio to Gemini Live
  • A small hobby project

Choose it if you want software you can audit and are comfortable with Google processing the session. Official site.

Bring your own key is not the same as free

With a bring-your-own-key copilot, the app is free and the AI is not. Each question you ask is sent to the provider whose key you entered, and that provider charges for it under your account. How much depends on the model, how long the interview runs and how often you ask, so we do not quote a per-interview figure; set a spending limit in your provider's dashboard before your first session.

A local model is the one way to pay nothing per use. It runs on your own processor and memory, so the cost moves to hardware: a recent computer with plenty of memory, and patience with a model smaller than the hosted ones. Our comparison of local and cloud AI assistants explains the trade.

Free tiers and trials of hosted copilots

The hosted copilots below all have a free way in, but none covers a full interview every week. Use them to see whether you like the format.

Verve AI: the most usable hosted free plan

Platforms
Web, macOS and Windows desktop, mobile
Free option
Free plan, with limits3 copilot sessions a month of 15 minutes each, plus 5 AI mock interviews.
Paid plans
Standard $44.99 a month ($16.99 billed annually); Pro $84.99 a month ($34.99 billed annually)
How it works
Listens to the interview and detects questions; screen-region capture for coding problems

Verve AI's free plan is the only hosted one with both live sessions and mock interviews that renews monthly. Beyond it, Standard is $16.99 a month billed annually or $44.99 monthly.

Strengths

  • Permanent free plan, no card
  • Three 15-minute live sessions a month
  • Five AI mock interviews

Drawbacks

  • 15 minutes ends early in most interviews
  • Retention not stated on its main pages
  • Paid plans are expensive month to month

Choose it if you want to try a hosted copilot and AI mocks without paying. Official site.

LockedIn AI: a free plan on every device

Platforms
Windows 10+ and macOS 13.1+ desktop, iOS, Android, and a web app in Chromium browsers
Free option
Free plan, with limitsA free plan with no card. The site states its limit two ways (10 minutes of live help, and unlimited 5-minute sessions up to 60 minutes a day).
Paid plans
Unlimited, credit (400 minutes a month) and lifetime plans; prices only render at checkout and could not be confirmed
How it works
Separate app or browser tab that hears the call; on macOS the interview has to run in a Chrome tab

LockedIn AI describes its free plan both as 10 minutes of live help and as unlimited five-minute sessions up to 60 minutes a day. Check the current limit inside the app before relying on it.

Strengths

  • Free plan with no card
  • Desktop, web, iOS and Android
  • Mock interviews alongside the copilot

Drawbacks

  • The site states the free limit two different ways
  • Paid prices only appear at checkout
  • On macOS the call must run in Chrome

Choose it if you want to try a copilot on a phone as well as a laptop. Official site.

Sensei AI: a free browser-only copilot

Platforms
Web app; no desktop or mobile app is mentioned
Free option
Free plan, with limitsFree plan with 15-minute copilot sessions; how many is not stated.
Paid plans
Pro $89 a month, or $24 a month billed annually
How it works
Web app with speech recognition alongside Zoom, Teams or Meet

Sensei AI runs in the browser next to Zoom, Teams or Meet. Its free plan gives 15-minute sessions without saying how many; Pro is $89 monthly or $24 a month billed annually.

Strengths

  • Nothing to install
  • Free 15-minute sessions
  • Low annual price if you upgrade

Drawbacks

  • How many free sessions you get is not stated
  • No screen reading for coding is documented
  • Pro is $89 monthly

Choose it if you cannot install software on the computer you use. Official site.

Parakeet AI: a one-off demo

Platforms
Windows and macOS desktop app, and a web app in desktop Chrome
Free option
Trial onlyOne 10-minute free session and one free mock interview, no card.
Paid plans
Unlimited $99.90 a month or $399.90 a year; credit packs from $25 (one credit is about an hour)
How it works
Shares the interview's browser tab, or a desktop app that listens to the call

Parakeet AI's free allowance is a single 10-minute session and one mock interview. After that you buy credits (from $25, each about an hour) or a subscription.

Strengths

  • One free 10-minute session and one free mock
  • No card
  • Credit packs if you only need a few hours

Drawbacks

  • A trial, not a free plan
  • Unlimited is $99.90 a month
  • Desktop audio capture is not documented

Choose it if you want to see a hosted copilot once before buying credits. Official site.

Final Round AI: free preparation, paid everything else

Platforms
macOS 14.4+ and Windows desktop app
Free option
Free plan, with limitsFree plan covers preparation only (résumé, job-description parsing, checklists). No free live sessions and no trial.
Paid plans
Pro from $25 a month (the full price table only renders in the browser; check it at checkout)
How it works
Desktop app with floating windows; no bot joins the call; can capture the screen for coding questions

Final Round AI's free plan is useful paperwork, not interview help: it parses the job description and builds a preparation checklist. Its own pricing page says there is no free trial and that live sessions need Pro, listed from $25 a month.

Strengths

  • Free résumé and job-description preparation
  • Free desktop app on macOS and Windows
  • One subscription covers practice and live when you upgrade

Drawbacks

  • No free live sessions and no trial
  • Practice interviews are in Pro too
  • Full price table only at checkout

Choose it if you plan to pay for Pro later and want to set up your materials first. Official site.

A $0 setup, step by step

  1. Practise answers: run mock interviews on Huru until your stories fit in about two minutes each.
  2. Practise coding: take interviewing.io's AI Interviewer or an Aced peer mock, talking through every step. Our software engineer questions give you material.
  3. Add a local copilot to mock interviews: install Ollama and pull a model your computer can run, then install Natively and select Ollama as the provider. Run it during a mock with a friend and compare its suggestions with your answers afterwards.
  4. On the day: follow the employer's rules. If they have not said AI help is allowed, close the copilot; the practice is what you take into the room.

The rules on live use are covered in more detail in our interview copilots guide. As one example, Anthropic's guidance for candidates encourages AI for preparation and rules it out in live interviews unless they say otherwise.

Which free option for which situation

Our free pick for each situation
SituationPickWhy
Student or new graduateHuruUnlimited free practice
Professional with a few interviewsVerve AIFree mocks and live minutes, renewed monthly
Coding interviewsinterviewing.ioFree AI Interviewer in a coding pad
Behavioral roundsHuruScored answers on structure and impact
Privacy, no API billNativelyA local model keeps everything on your machine
Open sourceCheating DaddyGPL-3.0, on your own Gemini key
Our free pick for each situation. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

If you are willing to pay, the best AI interview assistants guide compares the paid plans of the same tools. For Natively specifically, our free AI interview assistant page covers the free setup.

Questions people ask

Is there a completely free AI interview assistant?

For practice, yes: Huru has no paid plan for job seekers, interviewing.io's AI Interviewer is free, and Aced's peer mock interviews are free. For live help, no hosted copilot is free for a full interview; the options without a subscription run on your own API key, which your provider bills, or on a local model, which needs a capable computer.

Is there a free AI interview copilot?

Natively and Pluely are free to use with your own API key or a local model through Ollama, and Cheating Daddy is open source on your own Gemini key. Hosted copilots offer only short free allowances: Verve AI gives three 15-minute sessions a month, and Parakeet AI one 10-minute session.

Is bring your own key free?

The software is free, but the AI is not. Each request goes to the provider whose key you entered, and that provider bills your account for usage. Set a spending limit with the provider before you start.

Does running a local model cost anything?

There are no API charges, because the model runs on your own computer. The cost is hardware: you need enough memory and processing power to run the model, and local models give plainer answers than the largest hosted ones.

Is Final Round AI free?

Its free plan covers preparation only: résumé and job-description parsing and a checklist. Its pricing page says there is no free trial and that live sessions and practice interviews need Pro, listed from $25 a month.

What is the best free setup for interview practice?

Rehearse spoken answers on Huru, practise coding with interviewing.io's AI Interviewer or an Aced peer mock, and if you want a copilot in your mock interviews, run Natively with a local model through Ollama so nothing leaves your computer and there is no API bill.

Sources

Pages read on 27 October 2026 unless a line says otherwise:

  1. Huru: features and the free-for-job-seekers FAQ
  2. interviewing.io: product and AI Interviewer
  3. interviewing.io: mock interview prices
  4. Aced (formerly Exponent): product and the Exponent rename
  5. Aced (formerly Exponent): Pramp sessions moved to Aced Practice
  6. Yoodli: plans, limits and data use
  7. Natively: pricing and licences
  8. Natively: what the app does
  9. Natively: supported meeting apps
  10. Natively: answer latency benchmark
  11. Pluely: plans
  12. Pluely: README: licence change to closed source from v1, local storage
  13. Cheating Daddy: repository, licence and requirements
  14. Cheating Daddy: downloads
  15. Verve AI: plans, session limits and prices
  16. Verve AI: platforms and capture
  17. LockedIn AI: platforms, capture method, free plan wording
  18. LockedIn AI: plan types and credit minutes
  19. Sensei AI: plans and prices (homepage pricing section)
  20. Parakeet AI: plans, credits, free session, platforms (USD prices from the page's own price data)
  21. Final Round AI: Free and Pro plans, no free trial, platforms
  22. Final Round AI: desktop download and supported apps
  23. Interview Coder: prices (no free AI use)
  24. Big Interview: plans and guarantee
  25. Anthropic: guidance on candidates' AI usage
  26. Glass by Pickle repository (returned 404)

More 2027 guides

If a free local copilot is what you need, you can download Natively for macOS or Windows, read what it does, or see what Pro and the hosted API add.

Posted about Natively? A post with 5,000 views earns you a month of Ultra, free.

Keep reading

Put it on your own machine.

A live-conversation assistant that runs locally. Your conversations stay on your machine.

macOS 12+ · Windows 10/11

© 2026 Natively AI Private Limited

Source-available under the Natively Personal Use Source License v1.0 · IP geolocation by DB-IP