BlogMeetings & Calls

Best Free AI Assistants in 2027

The general-purpose AI assistants you can use for free, what each free plan includes and limits, how they treat your data, and when running a model yourself makes sense.

By Published 8 min read

Every major AI assistant has a free plan going into 2027, and the differences are less about which one is "smartest" than about what the free plan leaves out and what it costs you in other ways. ChatGPT's free plan has the widest set of tools but shows ads and, by default, uses your chats for training. Claude's free plan uses your chats for training only if you allow it. Gemini and Microsoft Copilot are the natural picks if you live in Google's or Microsoft's apps. Perplexity is the free choice when you need sources with every answer. And if you want an assistant that costs nothing and sends nothing anywhere, a local model through Ollama, LM Studio or Jan is the only option that is free in every sense, provided your computer can run it.

A note on where we fit: Natively, which publishes this guide, is not a general chat assistant. It is a specialist for meetings and interviews that can use these same models, so it appears at the end, not in the ranking of general assistants.

The short answer

  • Most tools for freeChatGPT: everyday text chats plus files, images and voice, within limits
  • Most control over trainingClaude: your chats train models only if you say so
  • Answers with sourcesPerplexity: every answer cites where it came from
  • Inside Google's appsGemini: on the web, Android and iOS, with Google's own limits
  • Private and offlineOllama: open-weight models on your own computer, no account

What "free" means for an AI assistant

A free AI assistant can be free in four different ways, and they are not equivalent:

  • A free plan with limits. Every cloud assistant here. Most no longer publish a message count; they describe limits that refresh every few hours and tighten when demand is high.
  • Free, paid for with data or attention. ChatGPT shows ads on its free plan in many countries, and several assistants use free-plan chats to train models unless you opt out.
  • Free software on your own hardware. Ollama, LM Studio and Jan cost nothing and work offline, but the cost moves to your computer: memory, disk space and speed.
  • Free apps that bill through your own API key. Specialist tools like Natively can use these companies' models through an API key. API use is billed by the provider and is separate from the free chat plan, which does not include API access.

The free plans side by side

Free AI assistants compared, checked 27 October 2026
AssistantFree planYour chats and trainingPaidPlatforms
ChatGPTFree plan, with limitsEveryday text chats on the free plan, with separate limits on files, images, voice and research; ads show on the free plan in many countries.On by default for personal accounts; switch off in Settings, Data controlsGo $8, Plus $20, Pro from $100 a monthWeb, macOS and Windows apps, iOS, Android
GeminiFree plan, with limitsStandard limits based on compute, refreshing every five hours up to a weekly limit; Google publishes no prompt counts.Used while Keep Activity is on; switch it off or use temporary chatsGoogle AI Pro $19.99 a month; AI Plus and AI Ultra tiers (prices vary by region)Web, Android, iOS
ClaudeFree plan, with limitsSonnet and Haiku models, usage that resets every five hours (no message count published), up to 5 projects.Only if you allow it, in Settings, PrivacyPro $20 a month ($17 billed annually); Max from $100 a monthWeb, macOS and Windows apps, iOS, Android
Microsoft CopilotFree plan, with limitsA limited free version, subject to capacity; Microsoft publishes no numbers.Signed-in users can switch training off in Privacy settingsHigher usage with Microsoft 365 Personal ($9.99 a month), Family ($12.99) or Premium ($19.99)Web, Windows and macOS apps, iOS, Android
PerplexityFree plan, with limitsUnlimited basic searches, 3 Pro Searches a day and 1 Research query a month; no model choice.AI data retention is on by default; switch off in PreferencesPro $20 a month ($200 a year); Max $200 a monthWeb and apps
Meta AIFree plan, with limitsFree for everyday use up to a daily limit Meta does not publish.Meta says it uses AI interactions to improve its AI; no text-chat opt-out foundMeta One subscriptions from $7.99 a month (prices vary by region and app)WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook, Messenger, the Meta AI app, Meta glasses
Mistral Vibe (formerly Le Chat)Free plan, with limitsLimited messages and web searches (no numbers published), basic image generation, up to 5 scheduled tasks.On by default; opt out in settingsPro $14.99 a month; student price $5.99Web, iOS, Android
DeepSeekFree plan, with limitsThe chat service is free; its terms state no usage limits and we found no paid consumer plan.Used for training, with an opt-out; data stored in ChinaNo consumer subscription foundWeb, iOS, Android
GrokFree plan, with limitsLimited chat and voice on the free tier; no numbers published.Opt-out control in settings; the default is not statedX subscription tiers from $8 to $200 a monthWeb, iOS, Android, inside X
OllamaFree, runs on your hardwareFree and open source (MIT). Models run on your own computer, offline once downloaded.Nothing leaves your computerNone for local usemacOS 14+, Windows 10 22H2+, Linux
LM StudioFree, runs on your hardwareFree at home and at work. Runs models on your computer; 16 GB of RAM recommended.Nothing leaves your computerTeam and Enterprise tiers for organisationsmacOS (Apple silicon), Windows, Linux
JanFree, runs on your hardwareOpen source (Apache 2.0). Runs models offline, or connects to cloud providers with your keys.Nothing leaves your computer unless you add a cloud keyNonemacOS, Windows, Linux
Free AI assistants compared, checked 27 October 2026. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

How we evaluated

We read each assistant's pricing page, help centre and privacy pages on 27 October 2026. OpenAI's and Google's own pages refused automated reading that day, so for ChatGPT and Gemini we relied on their help-centre text as published and kept to facts that more than one official page agrees on; where they disagree (ChatGPT's free model name, Gemini's AI Plus price), we leave the detail out. We did not test or benchmark answer quality, and we make no claim about which model is cleverest: that changes with every release and depends on what you ask.

We compared the free plans on:

  1. What the free plan includes: tools such as files, search, images and voice, and which models.
  2. How clearly the limits are stated: a published number beats "limited".
  3. What happens to your chats: training defaults, opt-outs, ads and where data is stored.
  4. Where you can use it: web, desktop, phone, and inside apps you already use.

The cloud assistants come first in that order; the local options follow, then Natively as the specialist.

The free assistants, reviewed

ChatGPT: best all-round free plan

Platforms
Web, macOS and Windows apps, iOS, Android
Free option
Free plan, with limitsEveryday text chats on the free plan, with separate limits on files, images, voice and research; ads show on the free plan in many countries.
Paid plans
Go $8, Plus $20, Pro from $100 a month
How it works
Cloud chat assistant

According to OpenAI's help centre, the free plan now has "unlimited everyday text chats", subject to abuse safeguards, with separate, lower limits for file uploads, image generation, voice and data analysis. Since February 2026 the free and Go plans show ads to logged-in adults; OpenAI says ads do not influence answers, and there is an ad-free choice for free users that comes with lower limits.

The setting that matters most is "Improve the model for everyone" under Data controls, which is on by default for personal accounts. Switch it off if you paste anything you would not publish. Go ($8 a month) raises limits and still shows ads; Plus ($20) removes them.

Strengths

  • Everyday text chats without a fixed daily cap
  • Files, images, voice and research, each with its own limit
  • Apps on every major platform

Drawbacks

  • Ads on the free plan in many countries
  • Chats train models unless you switch it off
  • The free model changes often and is not the paid one

Choose it if you want the broadest free toolset and are willing to change two settings. Official site.

Gemini: best free plan inside Google's world

Platforms
Web, Android, iOS
Free option
Free plan, with limitsStandard limits based on compute, refreshing every five hours up to a weekly limit; Google publishes no prompt counts.
Paid plans
Google AI Pro $19.99 a month; AI Plus and AI Ultra tiers (prices vary by region)
How it works
Cloud chat assistant

Gemini's free plan runs on what Google calls standard, compute-based limits: usage refreshes every five hours until you reach a weekly limit, and Google warns that limits can change without notice. Paid plans multiply those limits (AI Plus by two, AI Pro by four).

On privacy, Google's help page is direct: while Keep Activity is on, your chats are used to improve its services, including training generative models, and a subset is read by human reviewers and kept for up to three years even if you delete your activity. Turning Keep Activity off, or using a temporary chat, stops that for future chats.

Strengths

  • Limits refresh every five hours
  • Web, Android and iOS
  • Temporary chats are not kept for training

Drawbacks

  • No published prompt counts
  • Activity is used for training while Keep Activity is on
  • Human reviewers may keep a sample of chats for up to three years

Choose it if you already use Google's apps and an Android phone. Official site.

Claude: best free plan for control over your data

Platforms
Web, macOS and Windows apps, iOS, Android
Free option
Free plan, with limitsSonnet and Haiku models, usage that resets every five hours (no message count published), up to 5 projects.
Paid plans
Pro $20 a month ($17 billed annually); Max from $100 a month
How it works
Cloud chat assistant

Claude's free plan uses the Sonnet and Haiku models and includes web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors and Artifacts. Usage resets on a rolling five-hour window. Opus, Research and Claude Code need a paid plan (Pro is $20 a month, or $17 billed annually).

Anthropic's privacy centre says chats are used for training only if you allow it, through the "Help improve our AI models" setting; if you do, chats may be kept for up to five years, and if you do not, retention stays at 30 days. Incognito chats are never used. Check the setting once after you sign up.

Strengths

  • Chats train models only if you allow it
  • Web search, file creation, code execution and memory on the free plan
  • Up to five projects

Drawbacks

  • No published message count; usage resets every five hours
  • The largest model (Opus) and Research are paid
  • No image generation

Choose it if you write or analyse documents and want a clear say over training. Official site.

Microsoft Copilot: best free option on Windows

Platforms
Web, Windows and macOS apps, iOS, Android
Free option
Free plan, with limitsA limited free version, subject to capacity; Microsoft publishes no numbers.
Paid plans
Higher usage with Microsoft 365 Personal ($9.99 a month), Family ($12.99) or Premium ($19.99)
How it works
Cloud chat assistant

Microsoft describes the free Copilot as a limited version subject to available capacity; when you reach a limit you can upgrade or come back later. More usage comes with Microsoft 365 Personal ($9.99 a month), Family ($12.99) or Premium ($19.99). Signed-in users can switch off training on text and voice conversations under Privacy, though Microsoft's page says those controls describe the older Copilot app, so check them in the current one.

Strengths

  • Built into Windows, with Mac and mobile apps
  • Free to start without a Microsoft 365 plan
  • Training controls for signed-in users

Drawbacks

  • Free capacity is unpublished and can run out at busy times
  • No Word, Excel or Outlook help on the free version
  • Microsoft's opt-out page covers the older app

Choose it if you are on Windows and want an assistant one keystroke away. Official site.

Perplexity: best free option for research with sources

Platforms
Web and apps
Free option
Free plan, with limitsUnlimited basic searches, 3 Pro Searches a day and 1 Research query a month; no model choice.
Paid plans
Pro $20 a month ($200 a year); Max $200 a month
How it works
Cloud search assistant that cites its sources

Perplexity is a search assistant first: answers come with the sources they draw on. The free plan publishes real numbers, which is rare: unlimited basic searches, three Pro Searches a day and one Research query a month. Its help centre says AI data retention is on by default and some data may be used for training unless you switch it off under Preferences.

Strengths

  • Cites sources in every answer
  • Clearest published free limits of any assistant here
  • No account needed to start

Drawbacks

  • Only 3 Pro Searches a day and 1 Research query a month
  • You cannot choose the model on the free plan
  • AI data retention is on by default

Choose it if you look things up more than you chat, and you want to check where answers came from. Official site.

Meta AI: free inside WhatsApp and Instagram

Platforms
WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook, Messenger, the Meta AI app, Meta glasses
Free option
Free plan, with limitsFree for everyday use up to a daily limit Meta does not publish.
Paid plans
Meta One subscriptions from $7.99 a month (prices vary by region and app)
How it works
Cloud assistant inside Meta's apps

Meta AI lives inside WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and Messenger, plus its own app. Meta says it will stay free for everyday use, with a daily limit it does not publish, alongside the new Meta One subscriptions announced in September 2026. On data, Meta says it uses interactions with its AIs to improve AI at Meta, and we found no setting to stop that for text chats, so keep anything sensitive out of it.

Strengths

  • Already inside apps billions of people use
  • Free for everyday use, Meta says
  • Works on Meta's glasses

Drawbacks

  • No published daily limit
  • Meta uses AI interactions to improve its AI and personalise content
  • No text-chat training opt-out found

Choose it if you want quick answers in a chat app you already have open. Official site.

Mistral Vibe (formerly Le Chat): a European alternative

Platforms
Web, iOS, Android
Free option
Free plan, with limitsLimited messages and web searches (no numbers published), basic image generation, up to 5 scheduled tasks.
Paid plans
Pro $14.99 a month; student price $5.99
How it works
Cloud chat assistant

Mistral renamed its assistant from Le Chat to Vibe in 2026. The free plan has limited messages and web searches, basic image generation and up to five scheduled tasks. Mistral's help centre is plain about training: input and output data are used by default to train its models, with an opt-out at any time.

Strengths

  • Free plan with web search and image generation
  • Low student price ($5.99)
  • Mistral also publishes open-weight models

Drawbacks

  • Free limits are not numbered
  • Chats train models by default until you opt out
  • Smaller app ecosystem

Choose it if you prefer a European company and will switch off training. Official site.

DeepSeek: free with no published caps

Platforms
Web, iOS, Android
Free option
Free plan, with limitsThe chat service is free; its terms state no usage limits and we found no paid consumer plan.
Paid plans
No consumer subscription found
How it works
Cloud chat assistant; the company also publishes open-weight models you can run yourself

DeepSeek's privacy policy says it collects, processes and stores personal data in China and may use it to train its models, with an opt-out through a setting or by email. That is a reason some employers block it. The same company publishes open-weight models that run through Ollama or LM Studio, which gives you the model without the data question, if your hardware can carry it.

Strengths

  • The chat service is free, with no limits stated in its terms
  • No paid consumer tier to be upsold to
  • Its models are also published to run locally

Drawbacks

  • Data is processed and stored in the People's Republic of China
  • Chats may be used for training unless you opt out
  • Availability can depend on demand

Choose it if you want a capable free chat and are comfortable with where the data goes, or you plan to run its open models yourself. Official site.

Grok: free inside X

Platforms
Web, iOS, Android, inside X
Free option
Free plan, with limitsLimited chat and voice on the free tier; no numbers published.
Paid plans
X subscription tiers from $8 to $200 a month
How it works
Cloud chat assistant

xAI's FAQ says free users keep access to Grok's free limits on chat and voice, without giving numbers. Paid access now comes through X subscription tiers from $8 to $200 a month. A data control called "Improve the Model" lets you opt out of training.

Strengths

  • Chat and voice on the free tier
  • Web, mobile and inside X
  • A wide ladder of paid tiers

Drawbacks

  • No published free limits
  • Training default not stated
  • Two sets of plan names on xAI's own pages

Choose it if you already spend time on X. Official site.

The local options: free in every sense, if your computer can carry it

Local apps download an open-weight model (from Meta, Mistral, DeepSeek, Google, Alibaba and others) and run it on your own processor. There is no account, no limit, no ad and nothing sent anywhere. The trade-offs are real: a model that fits on a laptop is smaller than the ones behind the cloud assistants, answers more slowly on modest hardware, and models take tens of gigabytes of disk. Sixteen gigabytes of memory is a sensible start, and more lets you run larger models.

Ollama: the standard way to run models locally

Platforms
macOS 14+, Windows 10 22H2+, Linux
Free option
Free, runs on your hardwareFree and open source (MIT). Models run on your own computer, offline once downloaded.
Paid plans
None for local use
How it works
Runs open-weight models locally, with an app, a command line and a local API other apps can use

Ollama runs on macOS 14 or newer, Windows 10 22H2 or newer and Linux, using Apple silicon, NVIDIA or AMD graphics where present. Its documentation warns that models range from tens to hundreds of gigabytes. Its main strength is the local API: once a model is running, other apps can talk to it without any cloud service.

Strengths

  • Open source (MIT)
  • macOS, Windows and Linux
  • A local API other apps, Natively included, can use

Drawbacks

  • Models need a lot of disk
  • Large models need a powerful machine
  • Less polished for chat than a dedicated app

Choose it if you want local models available to every app on your computer. Official site.

LM Studio: the easiest local app

Platforms
macOS (Apple silicon), Windows, Linux
Free option
Free, runs on your hardwareFree at home and at work. Runs models on your computer; 16 GB of RAM recommended.
Paid plans
Team and Enterprise tiers for organisations
How it works
Desktop app to download and chat with local models, with a local server

LM Studio is a desktop app for finding, downloading and chatting with local models, free for personal and work use since July 2025. Its own requirements recommend 16 GB of memory or more and, on Windows, at least 4 GB of dedicated graphics memory; Intel Macs are not supported.

Strengths

  • Free at home and at work
  • Model browser and chat in one window
  • Local server for other apps

Drawbacks

  • No Intel Macs
  • 16 GB of memory recommended
  • The app itself is not open source

Choose it if you want to try local models without the command line. Official site.

Jan: an open-source local chat app

Platforms
macOS, Windows, Linux
Free option
Free, runs on your hardwareOpen source (Apache 2.0). Runs models offline, or connects to cloud providers with your keys.
Paid plans
None
How it works
Desktop chat app for local models and optional cloud APIs

Jan describes itself as an open-source alternative to ChatGPT that runs offline. Its documentation gives its own memory guidance for Macs: about 8 GB for 3-billion-parameter models, 16 GB for 7B and 32 GB for 13B.

Strengths

  • Open source (Apache 2.0)
  • Runs fully offline
  • Can also use cloud models with your own keys

Drawbacks

  • You manage model downloads yourself
  • Smaller community than Ollama
  • Same hardware limits as any local app

Choose it if you want a ChatGPT-style window on top of local models, with code you can inspect. Official site.

The specialist

Natively: free AI help inside meetings and interviews

Platforms
macOS and Windows desktop app
Free option
Free for personal useFree for personal use. Bring your own API key (your provider bills you for usage) or run a local model through Ollama (no API charges). A short trial of the hosted Natively API needs no card.
Paid plans
Pro licence $39 a year or $79 once; hosted Natively API plans $8 to $35 a month
How it works
Desktop app that hears both sides of the call from your computer; no bot joins the meeting

General assistants wait for you to type. Natively listens to the conversation you are in, from your computer, and answers on your screen, then writes the notes. It does not have a model of its own: you choose one, by bringing an API key from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google or Groq (billed by that provider, separately from any free chat plan) or by pointing it at a local model in Ollama, which costs nothing to run. The app is free for personal use; a Pro licence and a hosted plan are optional. For meeting and interview tools specifically, see our free meeting assistants and free interview assistants guides.

Strengths

  • Free for personal use
  • Uses the same models through your own key, or local models through Ollama
  • Hears the call and answers live, with notes afterwards

Drawbacks

  • Not a general chat assistant
  • Desktop only
  • API use on your own key is billed by your provider

Choose it if what you need is help during calls, interviews or lectures, rather than a chat window. See Natively's plans.

Keeping your chats private on a free plan

On a free plan your data is part of the deal, so three settings are worth a minute each. First, the training switch: ChatGPT, Mistral Vibe and Perplexity train or retain by default, so turn it off if you do not want that; Claude asks. Second, history: Gemini's Keep Activity and ChatGPT's temporary chats change what is stored. Third, location: DeepSeek stores data in China, which matters for work material.

For anything confidential, such as client documents, health details or code you do not own, a local model is the safer free choice. Our comparison of local and cloud AI assistants explains the trade-off in more depth.

Which free assistant for which need

Our pick for each need
NeedPickWhy
StudentsChatGPTBroadest free toolset; turn training off
Research and fact-checkingPerplexitySources with every answer, published limits
Writing and long documentsClaudeFile work on the free plan, training only with consent
Work on Windows or Microsoft 365Microsoft CopilotBuilt in; paid plans add Office apps
Privacy and offline useOllamaNothing leaves your computer
Meetings, lectures and interviewsNativelyListens to the call and answers live
Our pick for each need. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Questions people ask

What is the best free AI assistant in 2027?

It depends on what you trade for free. ChatGPT's free plan has the widest set of tools but shows ads and trains on chats by default. Claude's free plan trains on chats only if you allow it. Perplexity is best when you need sources. Gemini and Microsoft Copilot suit people already in Google's or Microsoft's apps. For something free in every sense, run a local model with Ollama, LM Studio or Jan.

Is ChatGPT still free?

Yes. OpenAI's help centre describes unlimited everyday text chats on the free plan, subject to abuse safeguards, with lower limits on files, images, voice and data analysis. Since February 2026 the free plan shows ads to logged-in adults in many countries, and chats are used for training unless you switch off Improve the model for everyone.

Which free AI assistant does not train on my chats?

Of the cloud assistants, Claude uses chats for training only if you allow it. Gemini stops using chats once Keep Activity is off or in temporary chats. ChatGPT, Mistral Vibe, Perplexity, DeepSeek and Grok offer opt-outs. Local apps such as Ollama, LM Studio and Jan send nothing anywhere, so nothing can be trained on.

Can I run an AI assistant offline for free?

Yes. Ollama, LM Studio and Jan download open-weight models and run them on your own computer with no account or limits. The cost moves to your hardware: models take tens of gigabytes of disk, and 16 GB of memory is a sensible start. Models that fit on a laptop are smaller than the ones behind cloud assistants.

Is a free AI assistant safe for work documents?

Be careful. Free plans often use chats for training by default, DeepSeek stores data in China, and Meta says it uses AI interactions to improve its AI. Switch off training where you can, and for confidential material use a local model or a paid business plan your employer approves.

Is Natively a free AI assistant?

Natively is free for personal use, but it is not a general chat assistant. It listens to meetings, interviews and lectures and helps live. It uses a model you choose: your own API key, billed by that provider, or a local model through Ollama, which has no API charges but needs a capable computer.

Sources

Pages read on 27 October 2026 unless a line says otherwise:

  1. ChatGPT: plans and prices
  2. ChatGPT: free tier FAQ
  3. ChatGPT: data controls and model training
  4. ChatGPT: ads in ChatGPT
  5. Gemini: usage limits by plan
  6. Gemini: activity, training and human review
  7. Claude: plans and free-plan inclusions
  8. Claude: when chats are used for training
  9. Microsoft Copilot: plans and prices
  10. Microsoft Copilot: privacy controls
  11. Perplexity: plan limits
  12. Perplexity: data retention and training default
  13. Meta AI: Meta One and free everyday use
  14. Meta AI: free daily limit
  15. Mistral Vibe (formerly Le Chat): plans and free features
  16. Mistral Vibe (formerly Le Chat): training by default, with opt-out
  17. DeepSeek: privacy policy: storage in China, training, opt-out
  18. DeepSeek: terms of use
  19. Grok: subscription tiers
  20. Grok: platforms and free tier
  21. Ollama: macOS requirements
  22. Ollama: Windows requirements
  23. Ollama: repository and licence
  24. LM Studio: system requirements
  25. LM Studio: free for work announcement
  26. Jan: README: licence, platforms, memory guidance
  27. Natively: pricing and licences
  28. Natively: what the app does
  29. Natively: supported meeting apps
  30. Natively: answer latency benchmark

ChatGPT and Gemini facts come from their official help pages as published on the date above; their pricing pages could not be read automatically that day, so check the live page before you rely on a specific limit. Google's own rename of NotebookLM and other changes are covered in our AI notetakers guide.

More 2027 guides

If you want AI help in your calls rather than in a chat window, you can download Natively for macOS or Windows, read what it does, or see how running it on a local model works. Prices for the optional Pro licence are on the pricing page.

Posted about Natively? A post with 5,000 views earns you a month of Ultra, free.

Keep reading

Put it on your own machine.

A live-conversation assistant that runs locally. Your conversations stay on your machine.

macOS 12+ · Windows 10/11

© 2026 Natively AI Private Limited

Source-available under the Natively Personal Use Source License v1.0 · IP geolocation by DB-IP